Back to All Events

Carol Moldaw, Valerie Wallace & Laura Swearingen-Steadwell

Carol Moldaw is an award-winning author of one novel and five books of poetry, including Beauty Refracted (Four Way Books, 2018) and The Lightning Field, winner of Oberlin’s FIELD Prize. The recipient of an NEA Creative Writing Fellowship in Poetry, a Pushcart Prize, as well as other honors, Moldaw received her M.A. in Creative Writing from Boston University. She has taught in many writing programs and conferences, and in the spring of 2011 served as the Louis D. Rubin, Jr., Writer-in-Residence at Hollins University. Currently Moldaw teaches privately and lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico with her husband and daughter.

Valerie Wallace is the author of House of McQueen (Four Way Books, 2018) and the chapbook The Dictators’ Guide to Good Housekeeping (dancing girl press, 2011). Her work was chosen by Margaret Atwood for the 2012 Atty Award, and she has received an Illinois Arts Council Literary Award and the San Miguel de Allende Writers Conference Award in Poetry. Her work has been supported by various grants and fellowships. She earned her MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. She is Associate Director, Communications for the project Virtue, Happiness, & the Meaning of Life at the University of Chicago and teaches at Harold Washington College, the Newberry Library, and offers private workshops.

Laura Swearingen-Steadwell won the 2016 Cave Canem Northwestern University Press Poetry Prize for her second collection of poems, All Blue So Late. She is a Cave Canem and Callaloo Fellow, and a graduate of Warren Wilson's MFA Program for Writers. She lives in a made-up neighborhood in Brooklyn. Her web site is


Earlier Event: March 20
Berl's Workshop
Later Event: March 27
Berl's Workshop