Back to All Events

Janet Kaplan, Joanna C. Valente, Steven Alvarez, Lauren Hilger and Adam Deutsch

Janet Kaplan's full-length poetry books are Ecotones (forthcoming from Eyewear Ltd. in 2019), Dreamlife of a Philanthropist: Prose Poems & Prose Sonnets (winner of the 2011 Ernest Sandeen Prize in Poetry from University of Notre Dame Press), The Glazier’s Country (winner of the 2003 Poets Out Loud Prize from Fordham University Press), and The Groundnote (Alice James Books, 1998). Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Arts & Letters, Barrow Street, Cross Currents, Denver Quarterly, Exposition Review, Interim, The Paris Review, Pool, Sentence, The Southampton Review, Tupelo Quarterly.

Lauren Hilger the author of Lady Be Good (CCM, 2016.) Named a Nadya Aisenberg Fellow in poetry from the MacDowell Colony, she has also received fellowships from the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. Her work has appeared in Harvard Review online, Kenyon Review online, Massachusetts Review, and elsewhere. She serves as a poetry editor for No Tokens.

Joanna C. Valente is a ghost who lives in Brooklyn, New York. Joanna is the author of Sirs & Madams (Aldrich Press, 2014), The Gods Are Dead (Deadly Chaps Press, 2015) Marys of the Sea (The Operating System, 2017), Xenos (Agape Editions, 2016), and Sexting Ghosts (Unknown Press, 2018). They are the editor of A Shadow Map: Writing By Survivors of Sexual Assault (CCM, 2017), and received a MFA in writing at Sarah Lawrence College. Joanna is also the founder of Yes, Poetry, as well as the senior managing editor for Luna Luna Magazine and an editor for Civil Coping Mechanisms.

Adam Deutsch lives in San Diego, teaches college composition and writing, and has work recently or forthcoming in Across the Margin, Thrush, Spinning Jenny, Ping Pong, and Typo. He's also active in the neighborhood of Normal Heights and can be found at

Steven Alvarez is the author of three collections of poetry, including The Pocho Codex (Editorial Paroxismo, 2011), The Xicano Genome (2013), The Codex Mojaodicus (Fence, 2017), winner of the Fence Modern Poets Prize.